The structure of PAIGH is based on four commissions: Cartography, Geography, History, and Geophysics.

These Commissions are responsible for developing and executing the scientific and technical programs of PAIGH, approved by the General Assembly or the Directing Council. They also promote and coordinate the scientific and technical development in their respective fields in the Member States.