Cartography Commission

The Cartography Commission of the U.S. National Section is led by Eric Van Praag.

Additional Cartography Commission members include:

  • Paul R. Cooper, CARIS (Member, Committee on Institutional Strengthening and Technical Cooperation and Hydrography Committee)
  • Robert L. Goodson, NGA (Member, Aeronautic Charts Committe)
  • Health Hill, Esri (Member, Geospatial Data Infrastructures Committee)
  • Andrea Huber, Esri (Member, Geospatial Data Infrastructures Committee)
  • Roberto Lugo, USGS (Member, Fundamental Data Committee)
  • Dr. Osvaldo Muñiz-Solari, Texas State University – San Marcos (Editor, Revista Cartografica)
  • Roger Payne, US Geological Survey (Member, Geographic Names Committee)
  • George Troop, NGA (Member, Geographic Names Committee)


The aims of the Cartography Commission are to:

  1. Update and develop modern cartographic infrastructure
  2. Transfer and exchange educational technology amongst disciplines related to cartography
  3. Effectively use the technology, processes, products, and other available information in the cartographic field
  4. Standardize cartographic procedures and techniques
  5. Encourage the use of cartography among PAIGH Member Countries and their specific needs
  6. Promote the coordination and development of geo-referenced information systems
  7. Endorse the education of specialized experts in cartographic fields
  8. Encourage collaboration among cartographic educational institutions of the Americas and related international organizations.


Recent activities of the Cartography Commission include …